Thursday, 27 June 2013



At a meeting of the LEICESTER CITY COUNCIL held at the Town Hall at FIVE O'CLOCK in the afternoon on Thursday, 27 JUNE 2013 duly convened for the business hereunder mentioned.

========

BUSINESS

=========

- 1. LORD MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS
- 2. **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

3. APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN

In accordance with the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 and by virtue of the Council Minute 48 of the meeting held on 30 November 2006 and Council Minute 32 of the meeting held on 24 November 2011, to consider proposals to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on the following former members of the City Council -

David MiddletonMir Juma MirzaferBrian ShoreDerek FryettSurinder SharmaGraham BettDenis McBrideJoe AllenKeith Lloyd-HarrisStephen ThompsonJoan Garrity

(The Act provides that the Council may, by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the Members voting thereon at a meeting specially convened for the purpose, with notice of the object, confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who have in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent services to the Council as past Members of that Council, but who are not then Councillors of the Council).

PRESENT:

MUSTAFA KAMAL, LORD MAYOR CHAIRMAN

Abbey Ward Freemen Ward

ANNETTE BYRNE ELLY CUTKELVIN

VIJAY SINGH RIYAIT WILLIAM HENRY SHELTON

<u>Aylestone Ward</u> <u>Humberstone and Hamilton Ward</u>

ADAM CLARKE RITA PATEL

NIGEL CARL PORTER BARBARA ANNE POTTER

GURINDER SINGH SANDHU

Beaumont Leys Ward Knighton Ward

VIOLET GEDDES GRAHAM DEMPSTER ROSS GRANT

SUNDIP MEGHANI

PAUL THOMAS WESTLEY DR

INDERJIT SINGH GUGNANI

DR LYNN MOORE

Belgrave Ward Latimer Ward

RASHMIKANT JOSHI VEEJAY PATEL

JOHN WILLIAM THOMAS MANJULA PAUL SOOD

Braunstone Park and Rowley Fields New Parks Ward

MICHAEL ERNEST COOKE DAWN ALFONSO

STEPHEN PETER CORRALL MALCOLM WILLIAM UNSWORTH

Castle Ward Rushey Mead Ward

NEIL CLAYTON CULDIPP SINGH BHATTI

PATRICK JOSEPH KITTERICK ROSS WILLMOTT

LYNN SENIOR

<u>Charnwood Ward</u> <u>Spinney Hills Ward</u>

PAUL DARREN NEWCOMBE HANIF AQBANY

ABDUL RAZAK OSMAN SHOFIQUL ISLAM CHOWDHURY

MOHAMMED DAWOOD

<u>Coleman Ward</u> <u>Stoneygate Ward</u>

MIAN MOHAMMED MAYAT LUCY CHAPLIN

IQBAL ALIBHAI DESAI

<u>Evington Ward</u> <u>Thurncourt Ward</u>

DEEPAK BAJAJ LUIS FONSECA BALJIT SINGH ROBERT WANN

<u>Eyres Monsell Ward</u> <u>Westcotes Ward</u>

VIRGINIA CLEAVER ANDREW IAN CONNELLY RORY PALMER SARAH CHRISTINE RUSSELL

Fosse Ward Western Park Ward

TED CASSIDY DR SUSAN BARTON SUSAN WADDINGTON GEORGE COLE

LORD MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Lord Mayor presented a leather-bound illuminated address to Councillor Robert Wann who had been Lord Mayor 2011 – 2012. The Lord Mayor thanked him for his hard work throughout his year as Lord Mayor.

DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

None.

APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN

Moved by Councillor Clayton, seconded by the City Mayor and carried:-

9. That, in accordance with the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 and in accordance with the Council's policy on the appointment of Honorary Aldermen, to consider proposals to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on the following former members of the City Council -

David Middleton Mir Juma Mirzafer Brian Shore Derek Fryett Surinder Sharma Graham Bett Denis McBride Joe Allen Keith Lloyd-Harris Stephen Thompson

be each appointed as an Honorary Alderman of the Leicester City Council.

The Lord Mayor declared the meeting closed at 5.04 p.m.